UK Bank Holidays and Observances in United Kingdom in 2020

Holidays and Observances in

United Kingdom in 2020

 

Date   Name Type Details
1 Jan Wednesday New Year's Day Bank holiday  
2 Jan Thursday 2nd January Local Bank Holiday Scotland
6 Jan Monday Epiphany Christian  
7 Jan Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox  
14 Jan Tuesday Orthodox New Year Orthodox  
25 Jan Saturday Burns Night Local observance Scotland
25 Jan Saturday Chinese New Year Observance  
10 Feb Monday Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday  
14 Feb Friday Valentine's Day Observance  
21 Feb Friday Maha Shivaratri Hindu Holiday  
25 Feb Tuesday Carnival / Shrove Tuesday Christian  
26 Feb Wednesday Carnival / Ash Wednesday Christian  
1 Mar Sunday St. David's Day Observance Wales
9 Mar Monday Holi Hindu Holiday  
10 Mar Tuesday Purim Jewish holiday  
17 Mar Tuesday St Patrick's Day Local Bank Holiday Northern Ireland
20 Mar Friday March Equinox Season  
22 Mar Sunday Isra and Mi'raj Muslim  
22 Mar Sunday Mothering Sunday Observance  
29 Mar Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time  
5 Apr Sunday Palm Sunday Christian  
9 Apr Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian  
9 Apr Thursday First day of Passover Jewish holiday  
10 Apr Friday Good Friday Bank holiday  
11 Apr Saturday Holy Saturday Christian  
12 Apr Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian  
13 Apr Monday Easter Monday Common local holiday ENG, NIR, WAL
13 Apr Monday Easter Monday Observance Scotland
16 Apr Thursday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday  
17 Apr Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox  
18 Apr Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox  
19 Apr Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox  
20 Apr Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox  
21 Apr Tuesday Yom HaShoah Jewish commemoration  
22 Apr Wednesday Stephen Lawrence Day Observance  
23 Apr Thursday St. George's Day Observance  
23 Apr Thursday Shakespeare Day Observance  
24 Apr Friday Ramadan Start Muslim  
29 Apr Wednesday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday  
8 May Friday Early May Bank Holiday / VE Day Bank holiday  
12 May Tuesday Lag B'Omer Jewish holiday  
19 May Tuesday Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power) Muslim  
21 May Thursday Ascension Day Christian  
24 May Sunday Eid ul Fitr Muslim  
25 May Monday Spring Bank Holiday Bank holiday  
29 May Friday Shavuot Jewish holiday  
31 May Sunday Pentecost Christian  
1 Jun Monday Whit Monday Christian  
7 Jun Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian  
11 Jun Thursday Corpus Christi Christian  
13 Jun Saturday Queen's Birthday Observance  
20 Jun Saturday June Solstice Season  
21 Jun Sunday Father's Day Observance  
22 Jun Monday Windrush Day Observance  
12 Jul Sunday Battle of the Boyne Local Bank Holiday Northern Ireland
13 Jul Monday Battle of the Boyne observed Local Bank Holiday Northern Ireland
30 Jul Thursday Tisha B'Av Jewish holiday  
31 Jul Friday Eid ul Adha Muslim  
3 Aug Monday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday  
3 Aug Monday Summer Bank Holiday Common local holiday Scotland
12 Aug Wednesday Janmashtami Hindu Holiday  
15 Aug Saturday Assumption of Mary Christian  
20 Aug Thursday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim  
22 Aug Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Holiday  
29 Aug Saturday Ashura Muslim  
31 Aug Monday Summer Bank Holiday Common local holiday ENG, NIR, WAL
19 Sep Saturday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday  
22 Sep Tuesday September Equinox Season  
28 Sep Monday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday  
3 Oct Saturday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday  
4 Oct Sunday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian  
9 Oct Friday Hoshana Rabbah Jewish holiday  
10 Oct Saturday Shemini Atzeret Jewish holiday  
11 Oct Sunday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday  
17 Oct Saturday Navaratri Hindu Holiday  
25 Oct Sunday Dussehra Hindu Holiday  
25 Oct Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time  
29 Oct Thursday Milad un Nabi (Mawlid) Muslim  
31 Oct Saturday Halloween Observance  
1 Nov Sunday All Saints' Day Christian  
2 Nov Monday All Souls' Day Christian  
5 Nov Thursday Guy Fawkes Day Observance  
8 Nov Sunday Remembrance Sunday Observance  
14 Nov Saturday Diwali/Deepavali Hindu Holiday  
29 Nov Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance  
30 Nov Monday St Andrew's Day Local Bank Holiday Scotland
8 Dec Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian  
11 Dec Friday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday  
18 Dec Friday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday  
21 Dec Monday December Solstice Season  
24 Dec Thursday Christmas Eve Observance  
25 Dec Friday Christmas Day Bank holiday  
26 Dec Saturday Boxing Day Bank holiday  
28 Dec Monday Substitute Bank Holiday for Boxing Day Bank holiday  
31 Dec Thursday New Year's Eve Observance